Faculty of Pharmacy

The Faculty of Pharmacy (FPH) was earlier the M.S. Ramaiah College of Pharmacy that was established in 1992. The Faculty offers a 4-year undergraduate programme leading to the Bachelor of Pharmacy degree (B.Pharm.), a 2-year duration postgraduate programme leading to the Master of Pharmacy degree (M. Pharm.) and also a 6-year duration Doctor of Pharmacy degree (Pharm. D).

The various postgraduate programmes that the faculty offers are:

  • Pharmacognosy
  • Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Pharmaceutics
  • Pharmacology
  • Pharmacy Practice

The Faculty also offers a Doctoral research programme leading to the Ph. D. Degree and many Certificate courses.

The programmes and curriculum offered by the faculty adheres to the norms of the respective regulatory bodies. The curriculum offered is outcome based and helps students to develop critical thinking abilities and to imbibe relevant practical skills for a smooth transition from academics to real life work environment. Opportunities are provided for students to do their internship in India or abroad depending upon their preference. Alumni of the Faculty are employed at pharmaceutical industries and business organisations at various levels.

The Faculty is well connected with pharmaceutical companies across India. Students are trained in formulations and manufacturing of drugs. The Faculty specializes in herbal drugs and herbal formulations. There are around 30 members of faculty and around 400 students. The Faculty publishes more than 40 papers annually and also contributes to the University publications - Book of Students Projects Abstracts, a student feedback magazine Reflections and a biannual technical journal - SAS Tech.