Faculty of Pharmacy

The Faculty of Pharmacy Started in the year 1992, is today one of the best pharmacy institutions in the country in terms of laboratory facilities and faculty, the college has been identified as "Model Institution" for quality and standards. From the time of its inception in 1992 till 2014 the institution operated as M.S.Ramaiah college of Pharmacy under the aegis of Gokula Education Foundation (M).

Faculty of pharmacy under the banner of M.S Ramaiah University of Applied sciences is aimed at becoming a centre of excellence in pharmaceutical studies and research. The faculty is moving ahead with the vision of upgrading the infrastructure and facilities required for new courses and programmes. The faculty is committed towards providing value based pharmaceutical education to meet the current needs of pharmaceutical industries and hospitals. The MSRUAS - Faculty of Pharmacy has been set to provide a platform for training and upgrading of skills as well as continuing development and education of pharmacy professionals in the healthcare sector.

Faculty Mission

The Faculty of Pharmacy at MSRUAS aims to deliver competency based pharmacy education with inter & multidisciplinary approach adopting global educational practices with emphasis on development of critical, analytical and problem solving abilities in its graduates and associates with a passion for lifelong learning and independent thinking. The Faculty would equally emphasize on creation of new knowledge in pharmacy to deliver effective and affordable medication to ever-growing complex biological diseases in the society.



Dean's Message


Trained pharmacists play a vital role in the healthcare programme by coordinating with the medical doctors in the selection and prescription of suitable drugs to the patients as clinical pharmacist, due to their thorough knowledge about formulations, dosage forms and adverse effects of drugs. They also guide pharmaceutical industries in regard to manufacture of quality drugs and new drug discovery. The courses and curriculum offered at various levels by the faculty adheres to the norms of the respective regulatory bodies.

The curriculum is outcome based which is a progressive approach to teaching and learning. It helps students to develop critical thinking abilities and to imbibe relevant practical skills for a smooth transition from academics to real life work environment. This philosophy of learning makes the student an active learner; the tutor a good facilitator and together they lay the foundation for lifelong learning. Almost all developed countries have adopted the outcome based education in their schools and universities.

Opportunities are provided for students to do their internship in India or abroad depending upon their preference. A student who joins the faculty of pharmacy, under MSRUAS will not only be groomed into a versatile pharmacist but also as a confident individual who can take up any challenge in the professional as well as personal front. These students will also have the advantage of a good campus placement due to the high standards maintained by our faculty. The courses offered aim to sharpen leadership qualities and advanced clinical expertise that enable them to be at the forefront of pharmacy profession and healthcare in a variety of settings including drug and formulation development, community practice, academics, educational research and government service. I again extend a cordial welcome to the family of MSRUAS...

- Prof. V. Madhavan


The Faculty of Pharmacy has 5 departments

  • Department of Pharmacognsoy
  • Department of Pharmaceutics
  • Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Department of Pharmacology
  • Department of Pharmacy Practice

Each department is an independent entity headed by a Head of the Department reporting to the Dean of the faculty. Each department has its own faculty members, teaching and learning resources and offers UG programme leading to B. Pharm. degree, Pharm D degree, PG programmes leading to M. Pharm. and Doctoral programme leading to Ph. D. degree. Each department offers Part Time PG programme and Doctoral Programme for working professional.

Associate Dean - PG Dr. S. Bharath

Dr. S. Bharath
Associate Dean - UG

Academic Registrar Pharmaceutics

Prof. M. Narayana Babu
Department Head of the Department UG Programmes Offered
(B.Pharm, PharmD Degree)
PG Programmes Offered
(M.Pharm Degree)
Pharmacognsoy Pharmaceutics

Dr. V. Madhavan

B.Pharm Programmes

PharmD Programmes

M.Pharm Programmes

Pharmaceutics Pharmaceutics

Dr. S. Bharath
Pharmaceutical Chemistry Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Prof. C. H. S. Venkataramana (I/C)
Pharmacology Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Pharmacy Practice Pharmacy Practice

Dr. E. Maheswari

Know more about Faculty of Pharmacy Click Here